My Skincare Obsession

So if you have read my ‘About’ page, you will already know that I am totally obsessed with skincare.

Since I was tiny I always saw my skin as very average, nothing special at all. I grew up with friends who had radiant and perfectly flawless skin. Not knowing why my skin wasn’t like theirs made me so frustrated, even at that young age.

You see, I had a lot of freckles, and I hated them more than anything. Even more than when my sister got to sit in the front seat of the car instead of me! I truly believe freckles look adorable on everyone but when it came to my own reflection in the mirror, they were all I could see and I wanted them gone. So ever since I was about 8 years old I have been on a mission to get perfect skin (well, in my opinion what perfect skin is).

At University my skin hated me. All of a sudden I went from having the odd spot and slightly congested skin to having a few new spots appear every day, each one taking forever to disappear and leaving a lovely red mark on my face. My whole face was also incredibly bumpy 😦
I can’t remember for the life of me what my skin routine was back in first year but there was definitely a lot of sleeping in my make up and I’m sure the junk food and alcohol didn’t help. It got so bad that one night during pre drinks I felt the need to apologise to my flatmates for my skin and mentioned that ‘this’ *points to my face* will be sorted soon.
I desperately researched online to find something that would help my face be my face again and came across Liz Earle and immediately ordered the cleanser and moisturiser.

Did it work? Yes and no… It cleared my skin up enough for the time being but it still wasn’t hitting the spot (pardon the pun). I know a lot of people who absolutely love the Liz Earle collection, and I agree that it is a lovely range but unfortunately my skin was still as bumpy as a cobblestone street.

I believe it was in third year when I discovered Origins. Wow, this stuff is amazing but not so amazing for a students bank account.
I bought the Checks and Balances frothy face wash, the Clear Improvements charcoal mask and the Modern Friction facial scrub. These three products worked wonderfully together and nearly all of the bumps on my face melted away. I also felt like I was giving myself a mini spa treatment every time I washed my face, it was great and for the first time in a long time, I was excited to remove my make up.

But the more I used these products, the closer I came to having to buy more and that made me nervous. At uni I didn’t have a job so buying expensive skin care became more of a stressful chore rather than a treat.

Since then, I have used a ridiculous amount of different products and I have FINALLY settled on two cleansers that I now use together and they’re both cheap as chips, hoorah! Introducing the wonderful La Roche Posay Toleraine Dermo-Cleanser and Sukin Revitalising Facial Scrub.

I plan on writing about various other products that I use, you know, oils and what not, and what my current skin care routine is, so keep an eye out for my future posts! x

(New drinking game: take a shot for every time you read the word ‘skin’)

Follow my blog with Bloglovin
https://www.bloglovin.com/blog/18805597/?claim=exx3rttcnb2

Leave a Reply

